Recommendation to Sea Glassman’s “Soul Emergence: The Actor’s Process as Spiritual Path,” A Mystery School of Acting

A personal reflection by student Elisa Noemí, September 28, 2011

 
Before, I lived in the ‘not-now, later’…in the past, in the pushed away future, in fantasy, in fear. Before, I lived in my head and my head wore a crown of gaudy gold too small for my skull, too small for my soul, it gave me a headache.

Now, I am beginning anew with each memory, with each breath. I am beginning, I am a beginner. I am rebuilding vocabulary, I am rewriting my life, retelling the stories, allowing my stories to change and my self to be seen. In the mirror. In your eyes. I will not look away. See me, do you see me? Help you help me to be seen. To see. Let me see you. I am new, every encounter, anew. I am excited to meet you. I am daring to try. I am open to what you have to teach me. I am reaching out of this box. I am unpacking the box my creativity was stuck with in. I am breaking it down, taking it apart, looking at the pieces and building new foundations. I am grounded in breath. I am grounded in tools and techniques, available at my fingertips, capable at my will.

Before, I felt plagued by a long to-do list that went undone. Negative thinking and Negative words like: scared, doubt, worry, stress, expectation, competition, self-hate, I can’t, what if, but, shouldn’t, won’t, why, no, I don’t know…

Now, in the words of another miracle teacher, “I know that the unknown is known to me.”

In between Before and Now, I was aware enof to notice the negativity weighing me down heavy and cold, I was aware enof to notice deep in my bones that these fears were not me, and that they were holding me back from reaching my great potential.

This is not a new thought: I truly believe that we Humans are all capable of more than most of us are aware of. We have tremendous potential and ability to exact our dreams. I was using up most of my forces of discipline and determination towards self-destruction, rather than towards devotion and creativity.
There are many spiritual leaders pushing Humanity towards Possibility Consciousness, and Sea Glassman is a teacher of schools of liberation. It is revolutionary that her work reaches towards Actors, because we actors have tremendous potential to dig deep into the core of (our own) humanity and truly inspire the world.

(thunder just boomed from the heavens as I wrote that last sentence!_Although it is not raining…not here, not yet!)

I sought out Sea because I was on a quest to save my own life by following the stirrings of my passion for performance. The description of her work spoke to me deeply, (flash of lightning in the sky) so deep it was nearly unrecognizable (low long rumble of thunder). I chose to dare, to trust the whispered “Yes….Yesssss…Yes!” that pulled me towards her teachings like the tide. Once in the water, that whisper (thunder again!) became louder and stronger and more pronounced, along with the freeing of my own unique voice.

This is not to say it was all easy. And when I write in the past tense, it is only for story-telling purposes. Really, all that I write right now, it true in the now: as I site by the window, watching the gry sky light, rumble and roar. Still no rain, not here, not yet…

(thunder) The gift of working with Sea is that the work is long-lasting. The home-work unfolds, and I the student, become more and more capable of self-teaching, self-directing. (lightning flash…calm thunder roll) It is the work of a Life Time, for the artist who dares to live Actively in each moment of breath, of Life, for the person who is willing to dive deep into the sea of their own self, to discover colorful fishes and coral and face demons, darkness and depths…and with new eyes and strong strides, swim past illusions to perceive (thunder) the unknown anew: with wonder, with excitement, with awe!

Sea is a teacher, and she practices what she preaches. She lights up the space with her present presence, her commitment. It’s contagious. Its liberating. By actively doing away with limitation stories, Sea guides her student towards new scripts. (My cat just crawled into my lap) She teaches that every moment is alive and I can be too – if I choose to live, if I choose to say Yes – the windows of opportunity open in natural time, like a rose, (cat went off in search of something new) revealing layers upon layers, windows to doors and doors within doors.

But we have to do the work! I have to do the work. I am doing the work, which enables me to write these words, now. Picasso said, “Inspiration exists, but it finds you working.” By doing this work, I now have tools and techniques to notice and name my personal oppressors, meet my resistance with resilience, and set out on my own yellow brick road. The path is before me, and my eyes are closed, but I can see. A Guatemalan poet wrote, “Caminante, no hay camino, se hace el camino al andar.” Which is to say, traveler, there is no path, it is made in the walking. So, like Dr. Seuss urges, “When you step, step with care and great tact, and remember that life’s a great balancing act…And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and ¾% guaranteed).”

I chose to step out on a limb, and trust Sea, and trust Me. I would highly recommend working with Sea, to anyone really willing to let go of the leash you are bound to, or the noose you are hung by, or the crutch or the handcuffs or the blindfold, or whatever is binding you. Whoever you are, if you are yearning to meet and embrace and liberate your own soul, if you are ready to meet the mirror and the world with bravery and authenticity, work with Sea. It is not easy. (the rain has arrived in sprinkles) There will be many voices trying to hold you back or slow you down. Work with Sea will hold a microphone to these voices so as to transcribe their messages. With keen listening skills, it will be revealed that those voices inside my head or your head are really just that – and not to be trusted. As those oppressive voices are acknowledged and put in their place, space within you will be liberated and the more encouraging, expansive, ethereal voices that support you on your way will be given more and more chances to speak and be heard. Dare to listen. Dare to Speak, speak and be free. Commit yourself. I am talking to you and I am talking to me. Do the work. Inspiration will find you.

(the thunder has hushed, rain has passed, even drops on the cement have vanished. the trees are all the greener cuz the sky is grey. on the horizon, peaks of blue blend between the clouds. the wind is strong and fresh as fall…)

Thank you for reaching for your dreams, dear Reader,

-Elisa Noemí

